“Ugh, …how about if I start 3-4 lines higher up?”

Standard

Recently, I was at the eye doctor for an appointment.  At one point, the eye doctor said, “go ahead and read the bottom line.”

“Ugh”, I said, “how about if I start  about 3-4 lines higher up?”  Without stating the obvious, the doctor knew pretty quickly that  have some eye sight troubles.

Speaking of eye sight and vision, I have begun to notice some interesting things about the topic of vision.

Currently, I am in my mid-50’s and besides recognizing that my physical eye sight is worsening (nothing that glasses can’t fix), I’ve also noticed a change in the perspective of my vision.  What I mean is this.

When I was younger, it was hard for me to focus on thinking wisely about what I was currently doing.  This verse from the Bible describes well my foolish ways at that time:

Wisdom is in the presence of the one who has understanding, But the eyes of a fool are on the ends of the earth. (proverbs 17:24 nasb) bold font added

That was me.  I thought long-term.  Similar to what so many politicians do, I was in the habit of “kicking the can down the road”.  I was living for the moment, catering to my many selfish desires, not thinking about or concerned about the consequences of my actions.   I daydreamed a lot and thought that there was always something better for me “out there” (or in California  , as I grew up in the Midwest).

However, today, I find myself thinking much more about the moment, not from a self-centered, “what’s in it for me” kind of attitude, but a “how can I experience each and every moment in a God-honoring kind of way.   I find myself being very focused on trying to make wise decisions now and I try enjoying each and every moment.

I think a verse like the following describes me more today:    “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.  – Matthew 6:34 -esv bold font added

I tend to find myself not wanting tomorrow to come to fast because there is so much to experience today.  It’s not that I fearing things in the future, or getting stressed out about all the “what if’s” that could happen, or even being anxious about good things I would like to see happen in the days ahead.

I just find myself focusing more and more on those things that are happening right now. To be honest, it’s very cool.   I find myself being very grateful for noticing that I have 5 senses that are functioning well, that I have a roof over my head as I go to sleep tonight, that I had food on my table tonight for dinner, that I have a loving wife who made that dinner, that I don’t fear leaving the house tonight and going to the store, that I can take a walk with my wife after work, and that I can talk about our faith in God with her…  I believe you get the point.

Tomorrow will be here before you know it.  Please don’t miss out on appreciating the presence of loved ones around you, right now.  Please don’t ever take for granted the breath of life in you, even as you are reading this post.    Enjoy this very moment because by the time you get done blinking, it will be gone.

 

 

Leave a Reply

