“Killing Lincoln” book review

Standard

Have you ever watched a show on Netflix that was part of a series and after watching it, it became a no-brainer for you to keep on watching the next episode.  You were hooked. I think they call it “binge-watching”.

I’ve had that same experience with a book I’m reading now, “Killing Lincoln” by Bill O’Reilly (and Martin Dugard).

I find myself totally absorbed in reading it. As I move through it page by page, eventually I hear a frustrating voice inside my head saying “put it down and go to bed—you can keep reading it tomorrow”.  Ugh!

I have found the book to be educational as to better understanding the end of the Civil War times and what was happening in the lives of both Abraham Lincoln and his assassin, John Wilkes Booth, as well as suspenseful. Page by page, chapter by chapter, I read on waiting to see how it played out.  Although I know that Lincoln got killed, there were so many new details being presented along the way that turned my black and white picture of Lincoln’s assassination into a vibrant, full color story.

Trust me on this, read this book.  You will enjoy doing so.

Leave a Reply

