“You know, I’ve never been asked that question” !

Standard

Many years ago, I was doing a fair bit of traveling for work and I can vividly remember feeling on one hand that it was so cool seeing some of the sites that I was enjoying. On the other hand, I felt sad because I wasn’t seeing these sites with anyone.

More than ever, I have realized that life is a precious thing in and of itself, but all the more when we are doing it with others. There is truly a preciousness about knowing you have family and close friends around you that you can share the fun times,  as well as experience together some of the most painful struggles, and everything in between.

As I’m writing these words, I think about a brief conversation I had with someone at church some time ago. Please keep in mind this was a leader in the church.  I asked him how he was doing.  The way I asked that question conveyed that I really wanted to know. I wasn’t just saying “how ‘ya doing?” as I was walking past him.  Shocking as it was for me at that time to hear (and still is) , he replied, “you know, no one has ever really asked me that question before.”  How tragic.

If you are like me where there seems to always be something to worry about in the future, as well a never-ending list of things to accomplish today, let me encourage you to pause to appreciate those closest to you who you are doing life with. It is the memories you have with these friends that make life special.

“The things that matter most in our lives are not fantastic or grand. They are the moments when we touch  one another, when we are there in the most attentive or caring way.”  Jack Kornfield

 

How are you doing with taking time to enjoy the people in your life?

Foundations Life Management APP

dashboard-2

Leave a Reply

