Giving your best, but “are you playing for Him?”

Standard

I’ve written a lot of posts over the years – over a thousand.  But I’m really excited about this one.  There’s a sweetness in my heart as I think about writing this post. (I was holding back the tears before it was all done).

This message is about vision and perspective. It’s about re-looking at the way you live your life and your motivation.

Readers of my blog know that my posts often deal with being intentional about striving for excellence in all seven areas of responsibilities. I believe that if a person does, they will generally be happier and more successful than those who don’t .  My Balance Sheet

In a similar way, I believe any person who is faithful, honest, hard-working, and exercises self-control will tend to have a more orderly life with generally less problems than someone who tends not to be faithful or trustworthy, and is selfish, lazy, irresponsible, and is not self-controlled.  Mind you, everyone has their difficulties, but a person who tries to be kind and think of others first will tend to not bring more troubles upon themselves than a person who only concerns himself with his own needs (and wants).  Wouldn’t you agree?

So, with that said, I believe that anyone will benefit from striving for excellence in all these seven areas of responsibilities.  I believe when you are at your best, you will bring others happiness, as well as yourself. But, hear me out as I go on.  But, even when we are at our very best, in and of ourselves, we are never good enough to come to God on our own merits.  We are just too mired in the stain of our selfish and sinful ways to come into the presence of a holy God.

Thankfully, God solved the problem by amazingly giving us His best.  He gave us His Son, Jesus Christ to live a perfect life on earth, then go to a place of judgement (a cross) to die in our place.  Through His sacrificial death, He has reconciled all who will receive this free gift of His kindness.

Now, as an expression of gratefulness to God for all He has done for us and empowered by His Spirit, we can do good works.  So, just to really make this clear,  as believers in our Savior, Jesus Christ, we now desire to do good things,  not to earn His favor, which we can never do, but as an expression of our gratitude for what He has already done for us.

In a similar way to doing good works, I want to encourage you with this rallying cry to strive for excellence in all seven areas of responsibility, but not so that you can boast about how good of a person you are, but as a gift back to God for His transforming work in your life.

As passionately as I can and out of a humble heart filled with gratitude, I want to come to Him and present my life to Him in hopes I have represented Him well. Like the little drummer boy, I want to be motivated to come to Him and honor Him by “playing my best for Him”.

Let me encourage you  (even dare you)  to find a quiet place this day, and with this post in mind, consider how you are doing in the seven areas of your responsibilities and how you can be better. After all, don’t you want to be your best, so that can present your best to Him?


As a further help to accepting responsibility for all the areas of your responsibilities (and building close relationships as you do), check out this new App I’ve created:

You can visit  either the App Store (for IPhones)     Foundations Life Management app for IPhone devices

https://appsto.re/us/ejC7fb.I

or go to the Google Play Store- https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.FoundationsLifeCoach.Foundations&hl=en

 

 

Leave a Reply

