A dieting tip to try…..are you ready to start lifting?

Standard

Some times an idea pops in my head and I say to myself, “yeah, it sounds a bit crazy, but I think it could work”.   Do you ever think like that?

This time of year many of us will make New Year’s resolutions we want to accomplish, but unfortunately we end up not succeeding in most of them.

I wonder if it’s because of a lack of tangible motivation that keeps us going and striving to put in the effort need to accomplish our goals.

Let’s get really practical and take dieting for example, which tends to be one of the most common New Year’s resolutions.  For me, I want to lose 11 pounds this year. Now, there are many helpful dieting programs available, but what motivation is there that will make accomplishing my goal “etched in my mind”.   How can I make that weight-loss goal a burning passion?  I have an idea.

My plan is to wake up each morning and actually pick up the pounds I want to lose.  In my case, I want to lose  11 pounds.  So, I found a can of paint that just so happens to weigh 11.5 pounds.  11-pounds

So, I have started to pick that paint can up first thing in the morning.  It’s an object lesson of the amount of weight I’m carrying around that is totally undesirable.

Hopefully, I will soon be replacing that can of weight for some other object in the house that weighs 10 pounds, then 9, then 8, etc.

I like very tangible things to motivate me and I believe this idea will help.  I’ll keep you posted (no pun intended).

How about you?  If you were to do this same idea, what object around the house would you be lifting up each morning?

Leave a Reply

