Do you catch yourself wanting ….

Standard

More and More, and more….

I don’t know about you, but I feel at times an overwhelming pressure to keep accumulating.  Whether its knowledge, or “collections’ or more gadgets and upgrades, I feel the urge to get more.   Do you ever feel the same?

However, in my desire for contentment,  I’m growing in the realization that my thirst for more will never be quenched.

With these thoughts in mind, I came across this quote  from Lao-tzu that seemed to speak to this truth.

“To attain knowledge add things every day.  To attain wisdom subtract  things every day.”

I thought that to be pretty profound.

To conclude this thought, three conclusions come to mind:

  1. like an addict not satisfied with his current fix, wanting a more intense and lasting “rush”,   I must continue to live with the understanding that more stuff  is not the answer)……to help me in this, I must give myself some “investigative” reflective times to evaluate where are those areas where I’m looking to acquire
  2. Eliminating my crutch on things is a good direction for me and the banner of “striving to live simply” is one worth pursuing
  3. Lastly, I want to be a man of integrity so that what I say is what I do.  When I say Biblical verses like “whom have I in Heaven but you?  And there is nothing I desire on earth as much as you.  My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever  (Ps. 73:25-26-esv), I want to be determined to say, “yeah, that is how I am. I don’t desire anything more than my relationship with You, God.  Bottom line, “You are all I need!  Everything else is just filler!”               How about you my friend, are you seeking to acquire more and more (of whatever) or are looking to focus on what is really essential in life?  
One thought on “Do you catch yourself wanting ….

Leave a Reply

