“boy, I would really like to have …”……..and why is that?

Standard

As I was driving around this weekend, doing some errands, I saw a really nice car for sale.  The type of car doesn’t really matter, but suffice it to say, it is a luxury car that has always had an appeal to me.

As I saw this car, instinctively, I heard myself say, “boy, I would really like to have that car”.   Then, my prosecuting attorney voice in my head quickly replied, “and why is that?”

Which came a prompt reply:  “so,…I would feel good about myself?

“Really?” The prosecutor said.

“yeah, and maybe also, people would see me as successful?”

As I heard this discussion going on in my head, all within seconds, I thought this conversation is just  really one of habit. I don’t think, where I’m at in my relationship with God, that getting a nice car to feel good about myself or to convey an image of success are what I believe, or strive for.  But, in hindsight, it was interesting to observe how quickly those thoughts came in to my head.

I guess it would be similar to wanting to be angry if someone cuts me off in the car.  It would be the same if a very attractive woman were to seductively appear before more.    The temptations would come, but my hope would be in either of those situations that I would quickly counter the temptation with truth.

And so, right after the initial conversation in my head about the car and my motives for wanting one, I started to camp out on Biblical verses of truth for which I found a surge of confidence developing. These truths are really what I believe and I’m good with that.

The truth is that:

  • I should not love the things of the world – 1 John 2:15-17
  • I should not conform to the things of this world – Romans 12:1-2
  • That, although there is nothing wrong with having nice things, I should not covet them, or be jealous of others who possess them – Deuteronomy 5:21
  • I should seek first the Kingdom of God and not be anxious over the things of this world- Matthew 6:26-34
  • That I should discern and prioritize about things that are temporary and things that are eternal – Matthew 6:19-24
  • That I should recognize that having Kingdom of God values will put me in opposition to someone who values only what this world offers, in fact, I will appear as someone who is foolish 1 Corinthians 1:18-31

These verses really just came to me, and were top of mind.  If I wanted to, I could probably spend hours looking in the Bible for additional verses similar to these.

With that thought in mind, I felt a heavenly contentment that made me feel good about myself because I knew I could be contented in life simply because of my relationship with Jesus Christ, apart from anything I might come to own.

 

How about you?  Like a fish having bait dangled before it, is there some kind of “bait” that is just dangling in front of you that makes you think if you just had …. , your life would be complete and satisfying?

Really, would more money, or that one dream car, or dream house, or dream amount in your 401K, or dream guy, or dream girl, or dream job, … ever really satisfy you in a lasting way?  My friend, it won’t .

I believe you will most likely  experience a temporary rush if you get that dream ___, but it won’t last.

There will always be new bait dangled before you.

Only a vibrant relationship with the living and loving God will satisfy

Leave a Reply

