It’s time to let the past go ….its time to live in freedom

Standard

I believe firmly in the truth of the Bible and its teachings on issues of both eternal and temporal issues.

For example, 1 Corinthians 10:13 says: “there is no temptation that has overtaken you that as such, is not common to all men, but God is faithful and will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will provide the way of escape.”

Why do I bring this up?  Well, a few nights ago, I was having an uneventful evening and thoughts came to my mind from 40 years ago.  I had thoughts of regrettable things that happened forty years ago. The thoughts seemed so real, so current. I dwelled on them for only about 15 seconds or so, and then the truth came to my mind that these events were not current. The way I acted then was not how I am now. The events playing out in my mind were from 40 years ago and I am a  different man than I was then.  I needed to remind myself of that fact.

As I further thought about what just happened, I recognized that it sounded familiar to me.  In fact, a friend of mine recently told me how he was having thoughts of some indiscretions he had, years and years ago, and how it was confusing his mind.

I further thought of someone I know that was involved in some horrific things many years ago. He fought in a war.  His mind  relives often many tragic events he experienced over fifty years ago. As he dwells on his past,  he carries the heavy load of guilt, stress, and regret.  Events from his past continue to tempt him to act as though they are still happening today.  However, the truth is they are not.

My point in this post is that it is a common thing for all of us to be overtaken by events from our past.  It is not unusual for any of us to relive our memories, but doing so is rarely helpful.

God’s desire is to demonstrate his faithfulness and provide a way of escape for each of us from past memories that seek to torment us.

Let me ask you a personal question:  Do you find yourself frequently dealing with your past as though these events are happening today?

If so, let me encourage you to trust in God and His way of escape for you. He desires you to be free.

He offers mercy and forgiveness from our past actions.

He offers His help (His grace) in the choices we have today.

and He gives us hope to motivate us as we think on our future.

 

God is faithful.  He is a living and loving God.

Do you personally know Him in this way?

Are you relying on Him to carry your burdens from both the past (and the present), which you have been trying to handle yourself for too long?
IT’S TIME TO LET YOUR PAST, STAY IN THE PAST.    IT’S TIME TO LIVE IN FREEDOM!

 

 

Leave a Reply

