Do you like working on puzzles?

Standard

I am the kind of person who likes vision. I like clarity. I like having clearly-defined goals and then enjoying the satisfaction that comes when I accomplish small steps in meeting my ultimate goal .

That is one reason puzzles are really tough for me.   It takes so much effort and patience to put a puzzle together that I get frustrated easily.  It is painstaking for me to spend so much timing trying to find one puzzle piece (among the many that all look the same).  Then, only to keep up my long search for another of the  other 483 pieces. Ugh!  The progress of putting the puzzle together is just way too slow for me, although it  is helpful to have the vision on the puzzle box of what the final picture should look like.   puzzle-654957__180

With those introductory comments said, I’ve been curious about several individual thoughts that have clouded my mind lately.  They seemed like individual puzzle pieces (all good on their own merit), but each dangling on their own —-until early this morning when, I believe the Lord brought them together and gave me the “picture on the box”.

  • one word that has been on my mind a lot lately is the word “SURGICAL”.  I found that Google defines “surgical” as  “denoting something done with great precision, especially a swift and highly accurate military attack from the air.”    —  The point is that when there is  a “SURGICAL” air strike, a specific target is hit, without a lot of damage to surrounding buildings, etc.
  • another idea swirling around came from the historical account in the Bible where Jesus is walking on the water and the apostle Peter (who is in a boat) said to Jesus, “if it is really you, let me come to you on the water”.  Jesus said, “come”.  So, Peter got out of the boat and started walking on the water to Jesus, only to start noticing his surroundings.  Peter got distracted by the wind around him and feared and began to sink in the water.  (Matthew 14:22-36)
  • Lastly,  I’ve been kind of camped out on Proverbs 3:5-6:–(nasb)”  “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, And do not lean on your own understanding.In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He will make your paths straight.”   I began to think on what that should look like in my life.

So, the exciting revelation I had this morning was that all these thoughts (puzzle pieces} were really connected.  They came to together to form a picture of vision to me.   It is brilliant.  Each of these puzzle pieces are all really about the same thing and its an exciting picture of what can be and what can be avoided.

Each of these different pictures are about God’s desire for me to be laser-focused on Him –at all times..  I am to be depending on Him in everything.  You see when I demonstrate my utter need for Him, my desperation for Him, an unbelievable thing happens—HE SHOWS UP!   (for those astute Bible students, you’ll know of this Bible verse, –“blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of God”  (Matthew 5:3)

When I am abiding in Him (to throw in another Bible theme), I am trusting in Him, I am acknowledging Him, I am focused on Him, … I am where I need to be and in a precision kind of way, I can understand His guidance for my life and I’ll desire to walk in obedience to Him.

The contrary is also true.  When I am not walking with Him, when I am leaning on my own understanding, and not acknowledging Him, and distracted by all the “noise” around me, then I will act on my own  and unfortunately, all too often, I will inflict much collateral damage and experience, much regret.

As many people around me will attest, I am a work in progress (as are we all), but by His help, I am appreciative of a clearer vision for my life and that is to strive to be more than ever focused on Him, more “SURGICAL’  if you will.

By being more intentional about my walk with the Lord (more time reading the Bible, talking about Him with others, talking to Him, and listening to Him),  I believe I will experience greater satisfaction, success, and enjoyment in this life.

How about you?  How precisely focused on God are you?

 

Leave a Reply

