Through it all, “you are loved” ( my daughter’s reflections)

Standard

For those who have been readers of this blog, you’ll know that I am very much in to taking time to evaluate. Getting off the fast-paced highway of life and pausing at a “rest area” to reflect is a habit in my life that has proved incredibly helpful.  Sometimes, I can feel myself ready to burst from overloading on too much thinking of micro issues going on in my life that cause me stress.  However, its amazing to me how taking some time to allow a bigger perspective of my life to come upon me that I not only sense the stresses of life get swept out of my mind, but thoughts of gratefulness seem to replace the worries.

I would encourage you if its been awhile, to take some time and rest and reflect.  Maybe for some, you will be helped if I encourage you to do a “Sabbath” kind of thing and do no work, but just rest, reflect, and enjoy your life.

I write these thoughts after reading an e-mail from my 28-year old daughter.  Knowing where her life has been to these thoughts expressed by this precious  woman I hope will encourage you.

Blessings.

God is so good! Not just some of the time, all the time. He is so faithful and all-knowing.

I am so glad I serve a God who says in Psalms 37:23, “the Lord directs the steps of the godly.  He delights in every detail of their lives.”

How amazing to serve a God that delights in every detail of our lives !!   I often think about this and agree with the psalmist when he says, “When I look at Your heavens, the work of Your fingers, the moon and the stars, which You have set in place, what is man that You are mindful of him, and the son of man that You care for him?” (Psalm 8:3-4).

It is crazy that an all-powerful, all-knowing God cares so much for me! In fact it says in Psalms 139:16, that “all the stages of my life were spread out before you, the days of my life all prepared before I’d even lived one day” .

Knowing this how could I not want to commit everything I am and everything I do to the Lord. I know a struggle I often find myself dealing with is patience . I always seem to have a sense of urgency in anything I am dreaming about or doing . God has been growing me in this area and helping me learn to trust in His perfect timing , Isaiah 60:22, ” when the time is right, I the Lord will make it happen”. 

I am really encouraged by the story in Matthew chapter 20, when James and John’s mother requested that Jesus save the seats on his right and left in Heaven for her sons . In Matthew 20:27, Jesus, in such a loving way, said to her, “you don’t know what you are asking “.  He didn’t embarrass her or make her feel pushed to the side.  He knows what the future holds.

How many times in my life has Jesus said to me ever so gently, “you don’t know what you are asking me my daughter”, “you don’t know what I have planned for you, something even better than this request, something that will further my kingdom more”.

Jeremiah 29:11 says, ” for I know the plans I have for you says the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future ” I can tell you of many of my prayers that I am so glad the Lord told me “no”. I am so glad, God is like a father who protects his children from not eating candy every time they want it  because he knows it is not good for them.  In a similar way, my God protects me.

I never imagined that I would be married, or have my own children. I assumed and dreamed of being a world traveler; an adventurer with lots of money from all my hard work running events. I thought maybe one day I’d have the spot light on me and maybe be the cool aunt who lives on the beach, however, my God had different plans.

I am married to an amazing man who loves the Lord, who supports me in any crazy idea I have and values when the Spirit places something on my heart. I’m a mother of two small children, a girl and boy . I am a nanny and stay at home mom. And even though all those things are not what I dreamed of, God knew better. He knew that I would delight in being a wife and having a partner who balances me. He knew that I would love being a mother and getting to play and teach my kids about the Lord, and take them outside and run around and be creative with them. He knew that I would enjoy being a nanny and get to work out of my home . I feel so unbelievably blessed. God knew this would be my life, He knew before I had even lived a day on this earth. I can’t imagine wanting anything more than what He has given me. I can’t wait to see what He has next for me and my family . I can look forward to my future with faith, as it says in Romans 8:28, ” and we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose.”

                            – Sara Ball-

Leave a Reply

