Aaagggghhh! I can’t believe this…

Standard

I don’t know about you, but in these troubling days, I have come close on several occasions, after listening to the news in the car, just wanting to yell. I so often have a feeling that our world is spinning out of control. I can’t believe what he said. I can’t believe this new report on what she did. I can’t believe this football player did this and that now others are increasingly following his example. I can’t believe another police officer has been shot. I can’t believe another innocent child in Chicago has been shot. I can’t believe that this train station was just bombed. On and on it goes.
Should I be concerned about these things – definitely!

What I believe God is clearly showing me is that I need to keep things in perspective.
Should I be praying for my leaders? yes.
Should I be praying for the prosperity in my land and for peace? Yes

BUT, what I too often am losing sight of is that this earthly existence where I am now living is not where my home, that is, my eternal home will be.  I have a citizenship, in reality in another place.  This time on earth is a like a vapor. It is here and then gone.

My concern and for other Christians as well is that we can too easily make it a priority to be all-in emotionally and mentally to all that is going on in the world that we are basically being distracted by what is of first importance, our relationship with God and leading others to a saving knowledge of Jesus Christ.

I wonder what most of us spend more time doing: listening to radio talk shows, or reading in the Word and being involved in ministry?

In Matthew 14, the disciples saw Jesus walking on water and Peter blurts out, “Lord if it is you, bid me to come to you”. Jesus says, “come” and Peter gets out of the boat, walking on water, as he is intently gazing at Jesus.
However, Peter soon recognizes what is actually happening. He also gets distracted by the winds and waves around him and fear begins to overwhelm him and taking his eyes off Jesus, he begins to sink.

That story describes pretty well what I am going through. I find myself too easily distracted by all that is going on in our world. As my eyes and ears get so dialed in to the crazy stuff going on in our world, I find my heart turning away from the Lord.

Christian, be sober-minded that the more the Prince of darkness can get us focusing on the temporal things of this life, the more he gets us distracted from being about our business of maintaining our personal walk with God and looking to boldly be reaching out to others with an eternal-life affecting message of salvation.

Look for more to come on this theme as I can’t think of any message more important for the church to be focused on than this.

Leave a Reply

