How much does “quality” get factored in to your personal life?

Standard
I have often written about my passion for  “striving for excellence in all areas of responsibility so that you can live a life without regrets”.  That to me is the essence of life management.  It is a pursuit of striving to improve the quality of my life.
Just to be clear, I’m not talking about being totally committed to say, your job, where you neglect your health and your family.  That to me is not a quality-led life.  Yeah, you might be excellent in one area, or two, but because you have neglected the other responsibilities,  I believe it will result in having regrets somewhere down the line and those can be pretty painful.
As this slide shows,  I believe there are 7 areas of responsibility and what I’m calling us all to is a vision of excellence in all seven of these areas of responsibility.   My Balance Sheet
Just to be clear, it is highly unlikely you will achieve excellence in all these areas of responsibilities without having a system in place and being very intentional about what you do and why.
So, I don’t know if it will mean much to anyone else, but the vision of “quality” was reinforced to me today, when I thought of two luxury car dealers:  Mercedes Benz and Lexus. If you’ve ever sat in one of these cars, let alone have driven in one, you know what quality FEELS like.  You know quality when you see it.
Lexus’ corporate motto is “The Relentless Pursuit of Perfection.”
Mercedes Benz’s corporate motto is “The Best or Nothing”.
I wonder what would happen in my life, or yours if we were to use one of these mottos as a kind of personal mission statement.
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________
*How intentional are you in pursuing excellence in all areas of your responsibilities?
*In what area(s) do you currently excel ?   (for those who are risk-takers, how about asking your spouse this question about you?)
*What area(s) do you need are you weakest ? (for those who are risk-takers, how about asking your spouse this question about you?)
*What action steps can you take this week to improve just a little in each of the areas of responsibility in your life?
                           “Striving for excellence in all areas of your responsibilities so that you can live a life without regrets:
Leave a Reply

