How about you? What are your plans today?

Standard

Would you consider killing someone a bad idea?

When no one is looking would you consider stealing something from someone else?

Do you think it would be a good idea to secretly fantasize about the spouse of your neighbor?

Do you think it’s a good idea to be focused on working seven days a week, that is, you regularly think that you can get ahead and catch up with your e-mails, or reports, etc. ?

It’s interesting to me that the first 3 questions seem to be no-brainers, but the 4th question is where I think you might start to see people with differing opinions.  Why is that?  They all come from the same list of 10 Commandments in the Bible, but for some reason, we think of keeping a Sabbath day as more of a suggestion, than a commandment.

I wonder what would my life be like if I depended on Him more regularly to help me live out the spirit of these 10 commandments (as Jesus seemed to emphasize in the Sermon on the Mount (Matthew 5-7)?

I wonder how much different our society would be, if rather than making it illegal to display these 10 Commandments, we embraced them and sought to obey them?

For me, I’m reading from Deuteronomy 5:12-15 (esv) where it says: “12 “‘Observe the Sabbath day, to keep it holy, as the Lord your God commanded you. 13 Six days you shall labor and do all your work, 14 but the seventh day is a Sabbath to the Lord your God. On it you shall not do any work, you or your son or your daughter or your male servant or your female servant, or your ox or your donkey or any of your livestock, or the sojourner who is within your gates, that your male servant and your female servant may rest as well as you. 15 You shall remember that you were a slave[c] in the land of Egypt, and the Lord your God brought you out from there with a mighty hand and an outstretched arm. Therefore the Lord your God commanded you to keep the Sabbath day.

Although books have been written on keeping the Sabbath Day, I just wanted to pass on to you some thoughts I’m having about the Sabbath Day commandment (and I would gladly receive your feedback as well):

  1. rather than getting hung up on the question of “what does “work” really mean?”, I’m re-looking at it from the stand point of stress and me-thinking.  My normal way of thinking is to ask myself, “What do I feel I have to get done today?”  “What progress can I make on goals I have?      Go, Go, Go!–Today, I’m thinking that I need to let go of these stress points and take a vacation day from these things.
  2. The idea is rest, for me and others. I’m thinking family and friends.  I believe this is a time to enjoy life with people I care most deeply about. It’s a time live and love.
  3. Lastly, it is a common thing for people to feel like they are under the thumb of their bosses and the “almost overwhelming weight” of meeting the demands of others. The Israelites were told to “Remember that they were a slave to Pharaoh in the land of Egypt”,  and that God brought them out to freedom.  I believe this point is so important. In the Letter to the Galatians (5:1- esv) , Paul says, “For freedom Christ has set us free, stand firm therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of slavery”.  God’s desire for us is our freedom. First of all, it is that we are set free from our bondage to sin because of our belief in Jesus’ death in our place, and His resurrection.  In addition to this, I believe that one of the benefits that we will enjoy as we practice a day of non-work is that our perspective of what life is all about will be expanded.  Life is more than keeping up with the never-ending demands of work.  We need to be free to realize that.  To experience God’s best for us, we need to step out in faith.

So, as I’m writing this post today before I go to church, I’m looking forward to a day of rest.  How about you? What are your plans today?

Leave a Reply

