But “what if…” ?

Standard

I don’t know about you, but it seems my mind is racing these days with “what if?” kinds of thoughts:

What if this person becomes President? or this person?

What if the Zica virus spreads?

What if these current racial tensions escalate?

What if the economy collapses?

What if they outsource my job?

What if I need to find another job?

What if my health fails?

What if….?

It doesn’t seem to end. The “what if…? questions just keep on coming.

As I’ve been thinking about these things a lot lately, a few thoughts came to mind that I hope you too, will find helpful:

  • “these things I have spoken to you, so that in Me you may have peace. In the world you have tribulation, but take courage; I have overcome the world”  – john 16:33 nasb   (in the midst of all my worries, fears, and stresses, I need to remind myself of both truth and perspective.  In the big scheme of things, this time on earth is just a vapor. It just goes by so fast.  I believe that God’s desire is for to me to be at peace, not so much because things will get better in this world, but because He is in charge of it.
  • “casting all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you” -1 Peter 5:7 nasb  – I love this verse. It’s a reminder to me that my faith is not so much a religion as it is a relationship with a living God.  How awesome is it to know Almighty God cares for me (and you) and invites me to lift up to Him in prayer the things that weigh heavy on my heart.  I don’t ever need to feel alone because in truth, I’m not. I can always have hope because He lives.

and then this line from, I’m not sure where:   “the past is just a memory, the future is a fantasy, but the present is a gift.”

Let me encourage you my friend in the midst of these turbulent times to not only strive to enjoy the present as a gift, but even more so, the Giver!

 

Leave a Reply

