2016- top ten posts – #4 – Can I be thankful for this?

Standard

#4 post of 2016  top-ten

 

At a recent church camp out  where about 650 men (maybe more) spent the weekend in northern Michigan (what an awesome time!),   I was working on building our campsite.

During our building time, I got a little impatient as we were putting together a wooden swing set and a loose 4″x4″x 12′ beam fell and clipped my face.  Ouch!

Actually, very fortunately, it hit my face just above my lip.    injury on face

 

What is the positive in a situation like this. Well, I can think of four:

1) it could have been a lot worse. If it would have fallen a few more inches on my head, with the weight of that post,  I could have experienced a very serious injury

2) I was reminded once again of my need to be more careful when doing construction projects like this (and yes, accidents like this have happened to me before)

3) As this injury happened above my mouth, I was given a prompting to be careful with my mouth.  I think maybe I’ve gotten a bit careless in the usage of my words.  What I say(and you as well) can be so positive and uplifting to someone else, or they can scar by the way they cut down and demoralize someone)

4) I am thankful for the activity of a Sovereign God in this case, who allowed me to benefit from these valuable insights and at the same time, protected me from an injury that could have been severe

 

Let me encourage you as well to be attentive to experiences that happen in your every day life.  What insights can you gain from these moments?

 

Leave a Reply

