What I can learn from an ancient story

Standard

An interesting series of events takes place in the life of Moses that I found to be very relevant.

After Moses experienced God speaking to him in a burning bush in the desert where God gives Moses a call to go back to Egypt to speak to Pharaoh, and deliver the Israelites from that land.

After considering the impossibility of that charge and Moses’ frequent excuses to why God had made a mistake in choosing him, Moses obediently,  but with some reservation began his travel back to Egypt.

But on the way, there are some interesting verses in Exodus chapter 4, verses: 24-27

24 At a lodging place on the way the Lord met him and sought to put him to death. 25 Then Zipporah (Moses’ wife) took a flint and cut off her son’s foreskin and touched Moses’ feet with it and said, “Surely you are a bridegroom of blood to me!” 26 So he let him alone. It was then that she said, “A bridegroom of blood,” because of the circumcision.

WHAT?  God says to Moses to go to Egypt because He had a job for him to do,  and then on the way, He sought to put him to death.  What’s up with that?

Back in Genesis, God declared to Abraham that He was going to begin a covenant relationship with him and his offspring. He would be their God and He would call them to live blamelessly before Him.   God also gave the act of circumcision to be a visible sign of this covenant relationship with Abraham and his offspring.

Moses was supposed to go to the Israelites with a message that through Moses, God would be delivering His people and that they were to walk blamelessly before Him.

However,  as Moses went on his journey to Egypt with his wife and two children, God dramatically showed up with an implied message to Moses, “how are you going to act as my representative when you are not serious enough in your relationship with Me to obey Me? Remember what I said to Abraham, “Any uncircumcised male who is not circumcised in the flesh of his foreskin shall be cut off from his people; he has broken my covenant.” (Gen. 17:14 esv)

Moses’ wife then stepped up and seemed to perform this act of circumcision on her sons, while Moses had to wonder to himself, “how had he overlooked this act of obedience?”

My point in sharing this lesson is the need for all of us to conduct our walk with more than just enthusiasm.   We need to be careful to walk in obedience ALL the time.

On a recent business trip, one night out of sheer boredom, I was flipping channels with no real intent to land on any program as I knew it was getting late.  But, for a few minutes I continued flipping any way.

Then, in such a wonderful way, the Holy Spirit brought back to my mind, this passage about Moses from Scripture and I thought –“right on.  How could I have a close relationship with God when I am making provision for the flesh and setting my mind on things of the flesh, rather than on things of the Spirit?”  I knew I had to be more careful.

I love the privilege of having the Holy Spirit live within me and being able to count on Him to guide me, convict me, teach me, and encourage me.

Anyway, the TV went off, I went to bed in peace knowing that, at least in this one experience, I was walking in the Spirit.

Leave a Reply

