You don’t need more goals—what?

Standard

For any regular reader of this blog, you will know that I am a true believer in the importance of setting goals.  Without goals, including general (directional goals), long-term, and short-term goals, you are not aiming at any target.  Without that vision or direction, what are you working toward?  How do you know when you will get there?  How do you know when you need to make adjustments and what kind you will need to make?

So, why would I title this post, “you don’t need more goals–what?”

Well, I’ve actually been personally working through that question for quite a while now.  I’m in my mid-fifties now.  For years and years, I have had very specific personal goals and was very intentional about achieving them.

I would have goals like waking up each morning and having a time with God, reading the Bible and praying.  I would have a goal about exercising at least three times a week. I had a goal of contributing at least 10% of every paycheck to my church.  I have had a goal of regularly spending quality time with my wife and children, etc.

However, as the years have passed, those goals have been so ingrained in my mind that they have become habits.  My life is very filled up with previously-made goals (most of which, I am still applying), but have become ways of life.

So, at times, I have felt depressed that there was not a lot of new goals I had on my mind.  “Maybe I could think of some new goals” I would think and even get stressed out about. My Balance Sheet

However, what I have come to settle in on is that being in “life management” mode is okay.  I don’t need to necessarily make up new goals just to be busy. If I do, pretty soon my life balance will be out of whack, being busy, but not necessarily fulfilled.

With that said, I have been energized all the more to not settle for a comfortable kind of life, but realizing the importance of those two questions above the heart on the slide, especially the question that has to do with asking myself, “in what ways can I do better?”

So, my friend, as you examine your life, let me encourage you to focus on being your best you.  The issue is not being busy, just to be busy doing stuff, but to be laser-like focused on setting and managing goals that are important for you and if the goals you have for now are stretching you and helping you strive for excellence in all areas of your responsibility, then just keep doing what you are doing—–you don’t need to add more goals to your life.  Just look to master the ones already in place AND ENJOY THE PROCESS AS YOU DO!

Leave a Reply

