Poetry: Fight the Fire

Standard

For those who are used to receiving my typical posts, you will find something different in this poetry post. This is a poem that is a part of a Poetry collection that comes from a time of my my searching days

Fight the Fire

Up there in the clouds,

a covering dividing up-

the coolness of the spirit

and aggressions of the tough.

I soared with other birds,

through the state of being free,

with crosswinds in my mind,

I grew so rapidly.

But all that was revealed,

were cover letters  to this and that,

no motions of any follow-ups,

or to questions, I might have had.

Through seasons I seemed to fly,

amazed at what I saw,

so complex is this whole system,

it goes on despite its flaws.

I could no longer fly,

my mind  and arms were tired,

soon I would have to land,

and get used to fighting fires.

I found a place so sheltered,

a nest of other birds,

they were already firefighters,

I listened to their words.

For seasons, I learned from them,

I watched their every moves,

how they handled heat-

by cooling off with booze.

And with this flock I stayed,

swaying in my flight,

it’s when I first felt heat,

that I lost my will to fight.

I’d watch the fighters return,

their hearts scorched by the flames,

these men were working hard,

and I was playing games.

I’d watch them long enough,

I now itch from desire,

I put on my protective mask,

Its time to fight the fire.

Leave a Reply

