Poetry: Carnival Ride

Standard

For those who are used to receiving my typical posts, you will find something different in this poetry post. This is a poem that is a part of a Poetry collection that comes from a time of my my searching days

Carnival Ride

The group of friends gather,

a reunion of old pals,

a time for catching up,

on past and present tales.

One friend slips away,

to make a secret deal,

paying cash for abstract pleasure,

movement on a wheel.

The friend returns with tickets

and distributes them with care,

“it’s the best that I can do,

I’d take them and beware.

Here’s a toast to all of us,

it’s good to see you all,

this ride will be a trip,

if you need me simply call.”

Aboard the ride they go,

their heads about to spin,

escape from simple life

to a world where no one’s been.

The rush grows more intense,

no way of coming down,

faster goes their insights,

and the wheel which goes around.

One friend yells in fear,

“my face is getting hot,

I can not feel my hands,

it’s those tickets that you got.”

The others begin to fear,

their lives pass before their eyes,

this ride is too intense,

different from other highs.

Suddenly, the leader groans,

his face looks all of fright,

“My arms are -look, dissolving,

they’re turning ghostly white.

Ahhh, my head is being crushed,

what am I to do?

Someone stop this ride

When will this trip be through?’

Shivering in his shoes,

the pain becomes too great,

he stumbles off the wheel,

determining his fate.

The ride begins to slow,

as his friends stand over him,

“he lived his life too hard,

always out there on a limb.”

Leave a Reply

