Do you understand the extent of the access you really have?

Standard

Lately, I’ve been thinking about many Biblical truths, such as the holiness of God, the Sovereignty of God, the fear of God, His being the Creator God, His being a miracle-working God, and on and on. Just thinking about how unexplainable  and great He is, how utterly amazing, just leaves me, literally speechless.

When I have these thoughts about how incredible God is, it does not take me very long to recognize how utterly sinful I am.  When His piercing eyes look upon me, I see, how apart from Him, how selfish I can be, how greedy, how rebellious, how devious, how lustful, how prideful, how I can be so compassion-less, and on and on it goes.

When I think about Him and all His over-the-top attributes, and then look at who I am apart from Him, I see myself  at the total other end of the spectrum.  I clearly can see how wide the gap is between this holy, beyond-words living God, and myself, a selfish, me-first creation (one of 7 billion or so that are currently living).

How about you?  Do you ever consider where God is on the spectrum of life, and where you are on that same spectrum.  Do you see yourself deserving to be very far away from Him when it comes to importance or do you see yourself fairly close (you know, God has His concerns and I have mine–we are both important?).

For me, I recognize how totally unworthy I am to come anywhere near His presence, BUT what I’ve been describing is only half the story.

As incredible as it is, He has built a bridge between my total depravity and my rebellious kingdom of self  and darkness and made a way to Himself, where truth and His love reside.  Yes, His grace is still amazing.

Let me give you a picture of something that catches just a glimpse of what I’m trying to describe.  Its a picture in history of arguably the most powerful person in the world at the time, President John F. Kennedy in arguably the most important room in the world–the Oval Office in the White House.   As I think about the importance of the job of president and the vital decisions that are made in that office, I am literally in awe.  JFK-and-JFK-Jr-Oval-Office-Desk-PX-65-105227

But, as important as that image is, it doesn’t even register as a blip in importance compared to the person of the Holy God and standing before Him in His presence.  Agreed?

But, let’s go back to the picture of JFK.  Do you notice something interesting in this picture? There is another person also in that office–it was his son. John F. Kennedy’s son was playing in that office with his dad.  He was not scared of the most important person in the world because to the boy, JFK was his dad. The son could go into the presence of the most important person in the world at that time with no fear, knowing that if had a scrape on his elbow, his dad would be concerned.  The president loved the boy.

Friends, it can be the same for us, as unbelievable as that is.  If we can acknowledge our sinful and rebellious ways before this Holy God, and recognize that God demonstrated His great love for us in that while we were still yet sinners, Jesus Christ died for us, so that we could be forgiven of our sins and reconciled back to the Father.

God tells us to cast all our anxieties on Him because He cares for us.  He tells us to “come unto Him, you that are heavily burdened and He will give us rest. He tells us to come boldly in His presence. He tells us to reverently call Him, “Abba Father (Daddy)”.

Is the message of Christianity awesome or what!  He is a good, good, God.

No matter how hard life might be for you at various times, please remind yourself that you have access to the throne of God Himself!    Now, knowing that you will be with Him forever, perspective-wise, how big are your problems right now?

Blessings

 

Leave a Reply

