“we don’t spend enough time …”

Standard

I don’t know about you, but some times I wonder if I make things too difficult.  I recently came across the following excerpt and it made me think if I just need to slow down a lot more and just consider what and how I’m doing things.  Maybe, rather than trying to add more positive behaviors to my way of life, maybe I just stop doing some things that are complicating my life.

I’ll get to the excerpt in a second, but to give you an example of what this book is talking about is consider multi-tasking.  I’m guilty of trying to do too much.  It’s especially problematic when I’m talking with someone and not really paying attention to what they are saying because I’m trying to do other things at the same time (like checking my e-mails or texts). That’s just one bad thing I could stop doing and making my life less complicated and actually more satisfying.

Anyway, here is the excerpt:

“We spend a lot of time teaching people what to do; we don’t spend enough time teaching people what to stop doing. Many people don’t need to learn what to do; they just need to learn to stop doing.”

Paraphrase from Peter Drucker (as told in “What got you here won’t get you there”” by Marshall Goldsmith, Don Brown, Bill Hawkins)

Leave a Reply

