What would you say over the airwaves?

Standard

Recently, I was on a business trip traveling through the Bible Belt.  Near the end of my exhausting trip, and after a  long day in which  I still had about two hours of driving left.  I decided to turn on the radio.

I wasn’t surprised as I listened to a few different talk radio shows that they were discussing the political circus we find ourselves in the U.S.

However, in the next few minutes, I found myself shocked as a very profound insight came to my mind.    Here I was listening to Bible talk show hosts, located in the Bible Belt who were discussing our culture’s hot topics without these hosts bringing up any Bible verse or Biblical principle.  In fact, when one guest asked the moderator what she was going to do if a certain politician got elected president, she said she was going to grab a bourbon.  Ugh!

A Christian talk show (actually two different ones I listened to) and the best guidance that these Christians could offer over the airways  is either the same “well, here’s my best advice (really, no different than any other secular viewpoint), or grab a bourbon”. Really ?

What about conveying Biblical principles, such as:

* that God is sovereign and that He allows for rulers to be in put in places of leadership to accomplish His divine purposes (tink God’s description of the Persian King Cyrus – 2 Chron. 36:23, Ezra 1:1, Is.44:28, 45:13

* what about each of our responsibility to obey our government leaders- Romans 13:1-7  (unless they are in opposition to God’s laws – Acts. 4:19-20, 5:29

* what about the Biblical passages that teach the truth that for Christians, our home is really in Heaven and that this time on earth is one where we are just passing through (Phil. 3:20)

My point in all this is that as Christians we have the Word of God to guide us and others.   This little experience I’ve gone through with these Christian talk show hosts was a kick in the pants to me to strive to bring more of the Bible into my thinking as to why I do what I do.  I want to be led by it because I truly believe God offers His wisdom, power, and love through it.

How about you?  When the Bible says  in 2 Timothy 3:16-17 (Nas)      16 All Scripture is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness; 17 so that the man of God may be adequate, equipped for every good work.–do you believe it?   Do you believe that this ancient book is relevant still today?  Are you daily reading it?   I hope so.  

Leave a Reply

