Be quiet!

Standard

Be Quiet!

Just curious, what kind of image is going through your heads as you read these words?

My guess is that most people would think of two people having a heated discussion where one person is dominating the conversation and the other person, finally having enough, says, “be quiet!”

But what’s interesting to me as I read these two words, “be quiet” is that the Bible also references these two words, but in a totally different light.

  •  “ and to make it your ambition to lead a quiet life and attend to your own business and work with your hands, just as we commanded you”  (1 Thes. 4:11- nasb)

Interesting, huh?  We are to make it our ambition to lead a quiet life.   What would that look like?  I would encourage you to meditate on that question and that verse and see what kinds of things the Lord brings to your mind.  For me, I’ve been greatly challenged by that.   I can’t quite get my head around it, but it has been helpful to think what a “noisy” life looks like.   I think a “noisy” life has to do with being involved in a lot of personal drama.  It can mean taking up a reproach for someone.  It can mean letting my mind wander in fear towards the future and many passing “what if” scenarios that I can dwell on.

  • how about one more, how about this verse that says, ”

    “For thus the Lord God, the Holy One of Israel, has said,

    “In repentance and rest you will be saved,
    In quietness and trust is your strength.”
    But you were not willing” ”  (Isaiah 30:15 nasb)

What I find interesting about this verse is that quietness is referenced as a good thing, and as a means of strength.  So, as I think about this verse a bit more, as well as the previous one from Thessalonians, I’m kind of thinking that being quiet is not the goal in and of itself.  Rather, I believe that quietness is a worthy pursuit when it has to do with being focused on our responsibilities and depending and submitting ourselves in a relationship with the Sovereign Lord.

Friends, are you living right now in a place of quietness (with confidence, focus, and rest), or are you in a place of noise, where life just seems chaotic and unsettled?

In either scenario, let me encourage you, even as I am speaking to myself to be willing to pursue your quiet and trusting relationship with God.

Blessings.

Leave a Reply

