Can this principle be still relevant today?

Standard

Here are a few questions for you that I think are pretty straight forward:  Is God the wisest? Is what is written in the Bible relevant for today?

For me, I would vote 2 “Yes” to those questions.

So, let’s get real practical and see about a Bible verse and relate it to your work.  The verse is found in 1 Thessalonians 4:11 (nasb), which says: “and to make it your ambition to lead a quiet life and attend to your own business and work with your hands, just as we commanded you,”

Let’s break down this verse into 3 components and let me encourage you to ask yourself the following questions (and maybe more will come to your mind). 

So, what do you think,  does it make sense to obey what is conveyed in this verse and are you doing it?  If not, what holds you back from doing so?

A quiet life:

So, what does it mean to lead a quiet life?

How would a quiet life differ than a noisy, or busy one?

Why am I motivated to lead a noisy or busy life?

Attend to your own business:

What would it look like if I did this?

What would it look like if I got involved in other people’s business?

What are the downfalls of concerning myself too much with other people’s business?

Work with your hands:

What areas am I asking others to do what I should be doing?

What are my unique skill sets?

What kind of work am I good at?

What skills do I need to improve on?

 

Interesting, huh?  Here we are just looking at one Bible verse and there is so much there.  Enjoy !

Leave a Reply

