Poetry: A Part-Time Player

Standard

For those who are used to receiving my typical posts, you will find something different in this poetry post. This is a poem that is a part of a Poetry collection that comes from a time of my my searching days

A Part-Time Player

I’m at a time in my mind

when my eyes look all around,

comparing the groove we fall in

to the happiness that I’ve found.

The groove has many pressures

for dollars and cents,

but that’s so far behind me

I’m in the present tense.

No regard for money

just beauty to my soul,

a search for truth and pleasure

that appears to be my goal.

It’s not to say I’m lazy

or have lack of ambition- or am sly,

It’s just I want to explode with life

not live it with a sigh.

I’m not a Royal King

nor is Rich my middle name,

I’m just happy to be alive

and a part-time player in the game.

Leave a Reply

