Never under-estimate how you …

Standard

Never underestimate how life-changing it can be for someone when you take the time to offer someone some words of advice or show them some attention. You can have a huge impact on someone else—maybe it will be today.

Here is an excerpt from “It’s not who you know, It’s who you are”, a wonderful book by Pat Williams with Jim Denney–its about Florence Griffith Joyner and the impact a few words from Sugar Ray Robinson had on her life:

 

“let me tell you my story.  I was one of eleven children growing up in South Central Los Angeles.  I didn’t have much  of a future ahead of me.  But when I was eight years old, I got to meet Sugar Ray Robinson, the boxing champ.”

“What did he say to you?”

“Sugar Ray  looked me in the eye and said, “It doesn’t matter  where you come from, what your color is, or what the odds are against you. All that matters is that you have a dream, that you believe you can do it, that you commit to doing it.”

Right there, I was sold on what my future could be.”

 

Whose life could you affect by just giving someone some of your time and thoughts ?

 

Leave a Reply

