What if I were a star? Well, maybe….

Standard

Recently, I was at an industry event and was asked to speak on a panel giving my perspective on the industry.

It was the first time I had done something like this and enjoyed the experience.

It was interesting to say the least.  I’ll be sharing additional posts in the next few days about my time, as it was truly memorable.

While at this event, I saw several people who are very big names in the marketplace. They are well-known.  As I was observing these celebrities, I stood back and saw how many people approached them offering their gratitude for the impact their books have made in their lives.

On one occasion as I was watching one of these people ,  I thought to myself, “I wonder what it’s like to be always on display”.  As I am  an introvert at heart, I wonder how I would respond to strangers frequently coming up to talk with me. Although I believe they have positive motives of extending encouragement and gratefulness, I wonder if their constant attention would get old.

The other thought that came to my mind was how they deal with that most wicked of evil characteristics, Pride.   I think it is safe to say that all of us, sinners that we are, have been cursed with a sinful nature that screams out “PRIDE- THINK OF YOURSELF FIRST!

So, although I was just a panel speaker, not a big time keynote speaker or anything like that, one woman who was helping me get settled in said to me, “and here is your dinner badge–you’ll need this to go into the banquet hall.  Not all of our volunteers know who all the speakers like you are”.

To be honest, for a moment, I felt important when she said that to me.  But again, I got to wondering, ” what it would be like to be a star and people feeding your ego all the time.  Would that be a good thing, or ultimately like holding dynamite– ultimately, a very bad thing as you think you are more special than other people.

Anyway, one lesson that I learned is to be contented for who I am.  I know who I am, I know what I have, and there is much, very much to be grateful for.

Desiring to be some kind of celebrity, a person who appears to have it all, well, in the words of the rock group, “Styx”, I think that all might be a “grand illusion”.

Leave a Reply

