Poetry: Time Away from Love

Standard

For those who are used to receiving my typical posts, you will find something different in this poetry post. This is a poem that is a part of a Poetry collection that comes from a time of my my searching days

Time Away from Love

Now I’m back

I’ve returned from on the run,

a time of blind existence

when hazy was the sun.

You see I came from across the river

the dark side of the clouds,

where nobody was ever in error

for wrongness they were too proud.

In time, I realized deeply

this life was not for me,

I didn’t need the pain

or the lies, or the hostilities.

So, I packed my bags

and gathered my thoughts,

and set out on the road

I kept my mind wide open

and dig whatever I could to grow.

Oh, the storms I had to battle

in the thunder and the rain,

all alone out in the desert

where no one could ease my pain.

So the road became my battleground

the place where I would live,

forever on the move

in one place I couldn’t give.

I had no maps  to carry,

so often  I was so lost,

“I know I’ve been this way before

my path  has just had to cross.”

But now, I’m tired of traveling

my tank is nearing “E”,

it’s time to  let my engine cool,

and regain some energy.

So, I pull in right here near this pump

I’m gonna fill up again,

it’s just the next time  that I hit the road

I’m gonna take with a friend

Gonna take with a friend.

 

Leave a Reply

