How John Maxwell learned leadership in the home

Standard

It’s not an uncommon thing for management teams, whether in a secular organization or in a church to meet together and in a small group setting, study some kind of leadership book.  Together, they can all learn valuable leadership lessons and apply them in their organizations as they strive for success.

With that principle in mind, when I read the following about John Maxwell in Pat Williams’ excellent book, “It’s not who you know, It’s who you are”, I thought this same learning and discussion method that works in organizations, also can work in families.

“I learned about leadership in the home,” he told me. “My father believed in personal growth and leadership . When we were little, mom and dad read to us constantly. At each stage of development, my parents introduced us to new books.  By the time, I was in the third grade, I was required to read for thirty minutes every day.  At first, I read stories from the Bible. As I grew, my parents gave me other books to read, such as “The Power of Positive Thinking”  by Norman Vincent Peale and “How to Win Friends and Influence People” by Dale Carnegie. …. My parents picked the books, and they paid me part of my allowance to read them. Each night at dinner, we discussed our reading.  We were encouraged to share not only the facts we had learned but also our opinion. I read every weekday until I graduated from high school”.

Parents, I would like to encourage you to consider making book-reading a part of your child’s chores and upbringing.  It might not be a bad idea to put some of your cash behind motivating your children in this reading adventure.

Besides your children growing in their appreciation of great books and from benefiting from their content, doing this reading project with them will also allow you to grow in your relationship with your child(ren).

Leave a Reply

