That’s right–Spring Cleaning is right around the corner

Standard

Spring time–now there’s a happy thought (I don’t really do that well during the cold, Winter months).

Anyway, one phrase that will soon be coming up a lot is “spring cleaning”.

Well, I have a book to recommend to you— “The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up” by Marie Kondo.  I will be writing a Book Review on it soon, but for now, here is an excerpt  that I thought you might enjoy from it regarding the issue of what to discard around your house and what to keep:

“We should be choosing what we want to keep, not what we want to get rid of. When I woke up, I knew immediately what that voice inside my head meant. LOOK MORE CLOSELY  AT WHAT IS THERE. I had been so focused on what to discard,  on attacking the unwanted obstacles  around me, that I had forgotten to cherish the things  that I loved, the things I wanted to keep. Through this  experience, I came to the conclusion   that the best way to  choose what to keep and what to throw away  is to TAKE EACH ITEM IN ONE’S HANDS AND ASK: “DOES THIS SPARK JOY?” IF IT DOES, KEEP IT. IF NOT, DISPOSE OF IT.    This is the simplest  but also the most accurate yardstick by which to judge.”

Begin thinking Spring and  a cleaner house!

Leave a Reply

