To be honest, I work on “Commission”

Standard

Well, this post might not be what you’re thinking it’s going to be about.

When I say “commission’, I’m not referring to the way I get compensated at my work.   When I say, “I work on commission”, I’m talking about life purpose.  As a believer in Jesus Christ, I’m referring to the “Great Commission”:

18 Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. 19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations,baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit,20 and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”  Matthew 28:18-19 NIV.

You know, life is hard.   There are concerns about paying off debts, having enough for retirement,  fears about ISIS, politics, breakdowns with our cars, or keeping up with all the repairs around the house that need fixing, getting to each of our kids’ practices and games, race relations, potential stock crashes, health issues for us and/or our loved ones, etc.     No doubt, thinking about all these  issues, and more is valid.  We should have concerns about matters like these.   However, sometimes, I wonder if I, maybe you too, have gotten so distracted by all of these things that I have lost focus on the main thing.

Jesus said that the two greatest commandments are to love Him and to love others.  Do I really believe that?  Do you?  He gave us a message of good news to believe in and to pass on to others–it’s a declaration of what He has accomplished.  In His loving sacrifice, He has made a way for us to have our wrongs forgiven and to be reconciled back to the Father.   That’s it!   He says, “go”.  Tell others about this priority news.

Think of it like this–when you turn on the nightly news, what is the first thing they want to air?  It’s the lead story.  It’s the main news story that they know you want to hear.  It has priority over all other news of the day.

The Great Commission to make ‘followers of Jesus Christ”  is the lead story.  It’s such a huge message that Jesus says tell everyone that this “breaking story” is what I want you to pay attention.   “Go, and tell others that developing their relationship with me is what is the most important thing in life.

So, yes, all the “issues of life” that I mentioned above have their place and should be managed responsibly, but when it comes to life direction, I don’t see how there are any other options but to trust and obey Him and  follow His lead story–go, and make disciples!

He is the one we proclaim, admonishing and teaching everyone with all wisdom, so that we may present everyone fully mature in Christ.  To this end I strenuously contend with all the energy Christ so powerfully works in me.”   Col. 1:28-29 NIV

Leave a Reply

