Cement trucks, doing dishes, and your spiritual life

Standard

On my way in to work this morning, I saw a cement truck with the barrel of it in the back, turning over and over.  Why does it do that?  The simple reason is because the cement inside that barrel needs to keep on being stirred, or else it will harden in one place–not a good thing!cement truck

In a similar way, it’s why we do dishes after a meal. If we don’t, the food gets hardened on the plate or on the silverware and it makes it harder to get clean.

Similar to the cement truck, or doing dishes,  I believe to have an effective and healthy spiritual life we need to be intentional about preventing hardness from developing.

  Hebrews 3:12-13 (esv) says, “Take care, brothers, lest there be in any of you an evil, unbelieving heart, leading you to fall away from the living God.  But exhort one another every day, as long as it is called “today,” that none of you may be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin.

I believe in having a daily “quiet” time with God and the Bible.  It’s not that I have to, but it is a privilege. If I don’t do it, I will notice it.  If I don’t do it for several days, my wife and family will notice it.

Having a consistent time talking to God, listening to God, and reading the Bible is a time for me to be stirred.  It’s a time for me to be cleansed.  It’s a proactive time to prevent a hardening in my heart and thought life because of the deceitfulness of sin.

So, the next time you seen a cement truck, or better yet, next time you finish eating dinner, be reminded and ask yourself, “have I spent some time with God and the Bible today?”

Leave a Reply

