Poetry: A Dream or Not

Standard

For those who are used to receiving my typical posts, you will find something different in this poetry post. This is a poem that is a part of a Poetry collection that comes from a time of my searching.

A Dream or Not

Where rivers form together

joining as one

and butterflies fly freely

dancing in the sun.

And leaves fall calmly

gently to the ground

this is heaven on earth

that I’ve found.

Where children are happy

playing on the swings

giving each other smiles

and the happiness that it brings.

The sun is shining

the sky is all blue

I feel so full of life

I just don’t know what to do.

 

Here I sit now

back in the office at work

Was that all a dream

I just cannot say for sure.

It seemed so real

but did I ever really leave

this chair behind my desk

or was I just deceived?

It must have been a dream,

but it felt so ever right

Ah-look there and behold

on my arm a mosquito bite.

And in my hair are leaves

that fell down from the trees

proof of my existence

outside there in the breeze.

 

Leave a Reply

