Seriously, could it get any worse?

Standard

I had a frustrating day recently.  I’m sorry, but I just need to vent.

* my Dunkin Donuts coffee just didn’t taste right

* after my walk on the beach, I just couldn’t get rid of all the sand I accumulated–it just seemed to be on everything

* at the pool, the water seemed to be just a tad to cold

* then, the cable wasn’t working, so I needed to read a book and play a board game to pass the time

* also, the internet also wasn’t working, so I had to drive to a McDonald’s and sit in their parking lot to borrow their free wi-fi

* at Olive Garden, I ate too much

Oh, what a day!   😦

Its interesting writing down the things that can get me frustrated, especially in light of having just spent some time with a cousin of mine who is courageously battling A.L.S. (and his faithful and loving wife who struggles with her own health issues).

Upon a deeper reflection, I’m recognizing that all the frustrations I’ve listed above are really just “first world” problems.  Do you know what I mean?  Consider this:

* half of the family units in the U.S. live paycheck to paycheck, so getting something like a Dunkin Donuts’ coffee would be a luxury in many homes  man passing by a poor woman

* the same could be true, even more so, about taking a vacation to a beach somewhere

* cable and the internet are helpful, but not a true need, such as having food and water and basic protection, which millions and millions (probably even billions) of people in this world long for every single day

* complaining about having too much to eat (at a nice restaurant) seems to be an “over the top” arrogant comment, again considering the fact that millions of people around the world live on virtually nothing. Even now, I can recall a memory of seeing little children eating “dirt patties”. Its tragic.

PERSPECTIVE—–sometimes, it’s just helpful to reflect on the things that concern us and put them into a broader context. Doing so, is humbling to me.  Usually, it’s not an enjoyable thing to do as I become confronted with my lack of gratefulness and my pride.

When I think about examples in the Bible of God’s perspective of overly arrogant, non-caring, and ungrateful people,  I think of the people of Sodom.   In light of this post, I found these verses to be revealing describing their evil behavior:

“Behold, this was the guilt of your sister Sodom: she and her daughters had arrogance, abundant food and careless ease, but she did not help the poor and needy.  Thus they were haughty and committed abominations before Me. Therefore I removed them when I saw it.    (Ezekiel 16-49-50 nasb)

Confession time- the events I mentioned above did happen to me,  but they didn’t really overwhelm me with too much frustration.  The reason: thankfully, God has been helping me to have perspective.

Friends, fight the urge to compare your life’s circumstances with the rich and famous you see on TV.

Be grateful for all that you have: your physical senses, the wealth and health you do have, the roof over you head, having a car, having friends, having a family, having a job, living in a place that is fairly safe-free from daily threats of violence, and knowing  a Savior.

Be grateful for all that you have–get perspective and be generous towards those without.

Leave a Reply

