Poetry: music is my vice

Standard

For those who are used to receiving my typical posts, you will find something different in this poetry post. This is a poem that is a part of a Poetry collection that comes from a time of my searching.

MUSIC IS MY VICE

Cigarettes are not for me

I no longer play the dice

I can not handle whiskey

music is my vice.

It’s a healthy form of habit

it can really relax the mind

it doesn’t hurt  the body

yet it can make my soul unwind.

What better way  to spend time

it’s relaxing as can be

listening to a jam

or a simple melody.

My mind drifts  with the music

my body loses sense

I think about the lyrics

their feelings and their tense.

There are many variations

so many different styles

but music can make the happy happier

it can give the sad their smiles.

Either listening to Charlie fiddle

or Carl pound his drums

I listen to their feelings flow

and the heart in which it comes.

These musicians have shared with us

parts of their inner self

I appreciate their efforts

their albums  go on my shelf.

Music carries feelings

and memories of my past

it can start a dream of beauty

one, I hope will last.

Well, music is in my blood

it’s  the only way I see

to carry me through the pain

and to let my soul be free.

Leave a Reply

