What did my friend seem to tell me each time we talked?

Standard

So, the work week is over—ahhh!

Now, comes the weekend.  But, if you are like many people, your weekend will be filled with driving kids to soccer games and church activities. Then, you will be probably looking to tackle some project around the home, or that needs to be done to your care.   Oh, then, you might be also be going to a party.  Many of you, hopefully –all  🙂   will also be going to church on Sunday, which could take up all morning .    Then, the week starts again.

So, what’s my point in all this–its stating the obvious, most of us just live very busy lives. I don’t really have too much of a problem in being busy, as long as I can be intentional about finding rest periods as well.

But, what I really want to stress today is that in all of our busyness, we can miss out on just looking into the eyes of our spouse, and our children and just enjoying, even relishing each and every moment of life that you have with them.

I remember about 25 years ago being at church and it seemed like every conversation I had with an older friend of mine, he would tell me, “enjoy the time with your children because time goes by too fast”.  It was almost bizarre at times how many times he told me this.

But, I believe I needed to hear those words.  I think his advice was very wise and I did take it to heart.

Let me encourage you as well today, amidst all the stresses of life and all your busyness, “enjoy the time with your children because time goes by too fast”.

Look into the eyes of your spouse and give her a longer hug than you normally would.

Sit at a table with her and listen to her dreams and her thoughts about her day.

Cozy up to your kids and read a book to them.   family hiking

Wrestle on the floor with your children.

Give your mom and dad a call or visit them.

Give Hallmark some business and buy a card for a loved one.

 

Enjoy the precious moments you have TODAY with your loved ones because there are just too many things that want to distract us from what is most important.

Leave a Reply

