Celebrate with me this 700th post and my deep, deep passion !

Standard

It’s hard to believe, but this will be my 700th post.   I thank so many of you for your encouraging comments and likes.

I would like to encourage you if you are somewhat new to my blogs that you take some time to review some of my past posts—I think there’s some good stuff here 🙂

So, being somewhat of a celebratory mood, I thought what would be the one topic that I am really passionate about and it seemed obvious to me–the Word of God–the Bible.

I don’t remember where I read of this humorous (but meaningful) story, but I’d like to share it with you.

There was a farmer who was teaching his young son how to plow the field with their big tractor and today was going to be the day that he was going to have his son do it all by himself.  The farmer told his son to find some object down the horizon and just drive the tractor straight to it.

The farmer received the “got it” look from his son and left his son feeling quite proud that his son was entering this stage of responsibility.

After a few hours, the farmer came back to the field and to his utter surprise he saw lines zig zagging all over the place.  In his astonishment, he asked his son what happened.

His son,with kind of a sheepish look said, “dad, I did what you said. I really did.  It’s just that the rabbit kept on moving”.

Why am I telling you that story (other than to get a good laugh)?   Its because many times in my life, I have done what a lot of people do.  I follow the latest fad.  I buy the latest technology thing, or see the latest movie, or wear the latest clothes (well, maybe not that one), etc.   Our culture is always changing.  Morals and priorities that seemed set in stone years ago are today considered outdated, or even intolerant.  What we used to be able to say, we no longer should.  The one thing that our culture seems to stand on is that nothing (or very little) is absolute and nearly all things are relative. If its good for you that’s fine, even though it might not be good for me.

With all that said, I lift up my Bible as something that has become precious to me.  I know I can do wrong and think wrong, so I appreciate that through the Bible, the Spirit of God can lovingly point out where I am off track. When I go through trials, He can speak to my from His Word and firmly provide  hope and encouragement.  When I just seem down and lonely, He can bring a verse to my mind that helps me know that I am loved.

This special book, which, unexplainable as it is, is “living and active” (Heb. 4:12). There is nothing else like it.  Through the reading, trusting, and obeying it, we can come to better know our Savior, and be trained in righteous living (2 Tim. 3:16-17).

In Psalm 19:7-11 (new american standard Bible), there is a short summary of the features and benefits of reading the Bible and obeying it.  It says:

 

Leave a Reply

