Why pay a baggage fee?

Standard

I don’t like paying taxes. I don’t like paying tolls,  and I don’t like paying fees. I cringe when I get my cell phone bill and see all the extra fees that I have to pay.  When I travel, if airfare is not enough already, I really don’t like when my air carrier says, “oh, and we have to charge you an additional $25 for your baggage”.  carrying baggage

Just the other day, I had a thought about baggage.  It’s a different kind of baggage though than at the airport.   I’m talking about the emotional baggage that so many of us carry around that is so destructive and, if you will, so taxing.

Even now, you might be already thinking of something unfortunate that happened to you years ago that you still get angry over.  Even now, you might be thinking about a strained relationship (like I am now). Maybe for some others, you carry around an addiction to something that you just can’t free yourself from.

In all these kinds of situations, what’s unfortunate is that you know carrying this baggage is not healthy for you, but you just can’t break free from it.    I’m right there with you.  Even just this past week, I was confronted by the fact that I was carrying my own baggage and I realized I have to free myself from it.  I could feel my blood pressure rise whenever I thought of this person. My failure to deal with my problem was affecting me, not the other person.

So, what can we do?   Well, as I’ve mentioned so many times in these posts, my first go-to is the Bible, the Word of God:

Accept an Invitation– “Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.” (Matthew 11:28-nlt)

Accept that you are Loved–   “ Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you.”   (1 Peter 5:7 -nlt)

 Let your Past Go– “Instead be kind to each other, tender-hearted, forgiving one another, just as God through Christ has forgiven you.” (Eph. 4:32 nlt)

See a  Healthy Vision for Yourself – “For you have been called to live in freedom, my brothers and sisters.” (Galatians 5:13 nlt)

Experience Times of Refreshing – “Now repent of your sins and turn to God, so that your sins may be wiped away. Then times of refreshment will come from the presence of the Lord, and he will again send you Jesus, your appointed Messiah.”  (Acts 3:19-20 nlt)

Be Secure in Knowing You are Loved – “And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,[neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love.  No power in the sky above or in the earth below—indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord”  (Romans 8:38-39 nlt)

Leave a Reply

