How fired up would I be hearing these words… !

Standard

“perfection is what you are striving for, but perfection is an impossibility.  However, striving for perfection is not an impossibility.  Do the best you can under the conditions that exist. That is what counts”

quote from John Wooden

I can almost picture myself being in a team huddle and listening to Coach Wooden speak these words.  How fired up would you be ?

(note: does John Wooden have credibility to listen to his words?  Yeah, I think so. ” He won ten NCAA national championships in a 12-year period, including an unprecedented seven in a row.[1][2][3] Within this period, his teams won a men’s basketball-record 88 consecutive games. Wooden’s streak of seven consecutive NCAA Championships is even more remarkable and impressive because to this day no other coach or school has won the tournament more than two consecutive years” (taken from Wikipedia)

John Wooden

What a vision – Perfection !

What realism—-its impossible to achieve.

What focus – but,  you can do your best!

I really appreciate that last point because its really not an issue of how I compare with you, but how faithful am I to giving my all?  Am I being the best that I can be?  I think deep down, we know intuitively if we are holding back, or if we are giving our all.

Good coaches, rather great coaches and bosses, and managers, are those individuals that get their followers to give their best – no matter what the cost!

Leaders, what vision, realism, and focus are you communicating to your followers?

One thought on “How fired up would I be hearing these words… !

  1. Pingback: How fired up would I be hearing these words… ! | Praying for the millennials

Leave a Reply

