yes, you will have questions, but…

Standard

Near the end of his life on earth, Jesus spent some quality  time  at dinner with His closest followers.  At this last supper, Jesus washed his disciples’ feet.  As Jesus went to wash Peter’s feet, Peter said to Jesus,  “Lord, do you wash my feet?” Jesus answered him, “What I am doing you do not understand now, but afterward you will understand. (John 13:6-7 esv).

It reminds me of another time (Mark 4:13) when Jesus responded to His disciples because of their lack of understanding.  There are many other references that I can also think of where the disciples were stumped over the words and actions of Jesus.

Please keep in mind that these were twelve guys who walked with Jesus for 3-3.5 years.  They knew Him really well, yet often they just did not understand.

My point in all this is if these men had questions about what Jesus was saying and why He did what He did,  then should it surprise any of us, if at times, we too just don’t understand why certain things happen to us, or when we get stumped over what a certain Bible verse means.

I have been a believer for over 33 years and there are plenty of times, I just don’t  understand something.  I’m sure you do as well.

However, what helps me during the times when I just don’t get something that’s taken place in my life, or with something I read in the Bible, is I look at the person of Jesus. Is He trustworthy?   I think it all boils down to His character—can I trust Him, even when I have questions?

Whereas every religion I can think of has some set of rules that need to be followed to be in compliance, as though mere conformity to those rules will bring lasting peace, Christianity is unique.

In Jesus Christ, we see God’s means of pursuing a relationship with humanity.  We see a God willing to interact with people, a two-way conversation, and pay the ultimate price of dying for us so that we could be reconciled back to Him.

We see in Jesus Christ an example of humility, being born not in a palace, but in a stable.  Later, we see Him getting on His knees to wash his disciples’ feet.

We see in Jesus a supernatural power to cast out demons, calm violent storms, and bring physical healing to people.

We also see in Jesus compassion.  He understands the limitations and self-centered bent of humanity. and emotional struggles people go through because He demonstrated His love for us by becoming a man for us.

Yeah, I still have plenty of questions , but I am fully convinced that He will give me the understanding I need when I need it, and if I need it all.

Yes, you too will have times when you don’t understand things of the Christian faith.  That is okay.  Just keep your eyes on Jesus–things will be okay.

He is a good God. He is a powerful, holy, loving, and trustworthy God.

Leave a Reply

