Maybe its time to stop chasing the rabbit

Standard

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I feel greyhoundslike these greyhound dogs racing after a mechanical rabbit. It seems like I’m rushing through life, along with many  other people chasing something that I think will bring me lasting joy, but it comes up empty.  I feel restless for a while and then, I find myself back in the race chasing after another something.

As I’ve been reflecting on this, I’m getting more and more convinced that nothing that this world can offer me in this lifetime will really bring me a true, lasting satisfaction.  I will always want more.

I can buy the latest technological thing, only to find out in 6 months (or less)  it will be outdated.

I can pursue a meaningful job, but realistically, after a while it too will get old and, at times, frustrating.

I can pursue moving into a bigger house, but that too will grow old after a while and I will be drawn to wanting a new house, or a new location, etc.

On and on, I could go giving illustrations of desiring one thing, but soon afterwards growing discontent and wanting something new

I am convinced that it is only by having a relationship with God through a belief in the crucifixion and resurrection of Jesus Christ and a willingness to live for Him that a person will find lasting contentment.

If you find yourself in a “dog race”, always chasing after the new something, which never seems to satisfy, then let me encourage you as I have a lot lately, to find a church in your local area that has a reputation for being alive and check out why it is that there seems to be such life and satisfaction with the people in that church.

Stop wasting your time chasing after “rabbits”. Life is too short.

2 thoughts on “Maybe its time to stop chasing the rabbit

  1. Pingback: Maybe its time to stop chasing the rabbit | Praying for the millennials

Leave a Reply

