I showed love to someone today

Standard

Well, really it wasn’t today, but a few days ago while I was out of town on business. Early in the morning, I prayed to the Lord and asked Him to use me to be a blessing that day.

Nothing dramatic happened for most of the day. Then, while I was out, by myself at dinner, I was served by a pleasant waiter. We small-talked for a few minutes. It was a very nice conversation.

When he brought me my food, I asked him just before he left that I’m trying to get in the habit of thanking God before my meals for my food and praying for those who are serving me. I asked him if there was anything he would like me to pray for him about, besides what he had already mentioned to me. He mentioned something,fairly general for me to pray for him about.

But, as he was leaving my table, he thanked me several times with what appeared to be very heartfelt gratitude.

Later as he came back to see how I was enjoying my meal(he actually came back several times), he also asked if I would pray for his girlfriend. Nothing too personal, just a general prayer request for her.

After he had given me my bill, I mentioned to him that I was giving him a financial tip, as well as a written Bible verse (Prov. 3:5-6) that I found has helped me a lot of help over the years. Again, he expressed deep appreciation for my thinking of him in this way.

As I was at the cashier’s, I told the woman behind the counter that I had a comment for the manager about my server. Can you imagine what negative comments she thought I was going to mention?

Well, I surprised her in a big-time way by mentioning how pleasant he was and that he took care of my so well.

She said “thank you” in a very startled kind of way. As I was walking out the door, I heard her comment to another employee who had come up to the cashier’s, “this guy just said a bunch of really nice things about Dean”.

Now, I don’t know all that was happening in Dean’s life, other than what he told me, but my point in sharing this experience with you all is that it really didn’t take a lot of effort on my part to show a lot of love to someone.
I was open to being used by God and prayed to Him
In His faithfulness, He provided an opportunity to fulfill this prayer request
I engaged with the server in friendly conversation.
I asked what I could pray with him about (and then prayed for him.
I was generous to him with my tip.
and I offered words of encouragement to be passed on to his boss.

Let me encourage you (and even to myself) to pray and then look for ways to be a blessing to others. I think there are a lot opportunities around me every day that I just miss because I’m just so focused on my life. Maybe its the same for you, too.

I don’t know who really was happier that evening after my restaurant experience: my server, or me for the privilege of making someone feel good. Either way, it was a good day.

Blessings

Leave a Reply

