What is a “Teflon” mindset?

Standard

Earlier today, I was taking a walk and I found myself dwelling on a person that I just have a lot of trouble with. The more I thought of this person, the more frustrated I got.

Then, it seemed as though the Holy Spirit of God was telling me to deal with my frustrations as though my mind were
“Teflon-coated”. You know, what I mean, right? “Teflon-coated” pans are those pans that allow for food not to stick to the pan.

What I discerned the Spirit was saying to me was to just let my negative attitudes and feelings just slide right out of my mind. I realized that I don’t have to concern myself with changing someone else’s behaviors. Its not my responsibility to change someone else (I have enough to concern myself with me), nor would I even be able.

So, rather than dwelling on frustrations and negative stuff, I just decided to think on other things.

And if I am to find myself thinking about that frustrating person, I need to submit to God’s teaching (and His good advice) by focusing not on the negative, but on what His Word says to do:

Philippians 4:8 (nasb) Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things.

2 thoughts on “What is a “Teflon” mindset?

Leave a Reply

