So call on Him!

Standard

I love my God.
As I have come to understand Him through my experiences and in reading the Old and New Testament, I am frequently amazed at how awesome He is.

In the Book of Deuteronomy, it says, in chapter 4, verse 7 (NASB), “for what great nation is there that has a god so near to it as is the Lord our God whenever we call on Him” .

How cool is that?

I think of when the Israelites cried out to God when they were slaves in Egypt and He answered their prayers and delivered them out of bondage. I think about when the Israelites cried out to Him during the times of the Judges when there were ruled over harshly by foreign peoples and He delivered them.

Even more so in these New Testament times, where the Holy Spirit lives within believers and we serve a resurrected Savior, He is near to us, responsive to our prayers.

Lately, I have seen so many answered prayers. The things that have weighed heavy on my heart, I have lifted up to Him and He has responded.

In the New Testament in the Bible it says, “you do not have because you do not ask” (James 4:2). I am slowly learning to set aside my pride that makes me think I can do it all and realizing that I can’t. It is starting to dawn on me that I serve a great God who invites me to let Him know what concerns me and ask for His help, which He is so willing to do. Why? Because He loves me.

He loves you too, dear reader. Don’t try to logically get your head around it because you can’t. He understands our tendency to be rebellious towards Him and to live independently from Him, but patiently He offers to do life with us.

How great is our God who is so near to us whenever we call on Him! So call on Him!

Leave a Reply

