“the great tragedy of the church is …” from Shane Claiborne

Standard

Authentic Christianity. As I observe the world around me, I recognize how troubled it is. I see people trying to find purpose and making sense with living their own life. This is a time, this is an opportunity for us, as Christians to point people to a living God who alone, lovingly desires to bring order to our life.

Christian, more than ever, there is a need to demonstrate –NOT OUR BIBLE & DOCTRINE KNOWLEDGE, but AUTHENTIC CHRISTIANITY that is characterized by grace, compassion, humility, and righteous living.

I love this excerpt from Shane Claiborne. It is powerful in its observation of how, we as Christians often live. To me, it is a wake up call to step up and live my faith in way that shows a consistency in my relationship with God through Jesus Christ.

“I asked participants who claimed to be “strong followers of Jesus” whether Jesus spent time with the poor. Nearly 80% said yes. Later in the survey, I sneaked in another question. I asked this same group of strong followers whether they spent time with the poor, and less than 2% said they did.
I learned a powerful lesson: We can admire and worship Jesus without doing what He did. We can applaud what he preached and stood for without caring about the same things. We can adore his cross without taking up ours. I had come to see that the great tragedy of the church is not that rich Christians do not care about the poor but that rich Christians do not know the poor.”

Shane Claiborne

One thought on ““the great tragedy of the church is …” from Shane Claiborne

  1. Pingback: “the great tragedy of the church is …” from Shane Claiborne | Praying for the millennials

Leave a Reply

