Our version of accepting “candy from strangers”

Standard

In the Garden of Eden, Eve was tempted by the Devil. It says in Gen. 3:6 (NLT): ” The woman was convinced. She saw that the tree was beautiful and its fruit looked delicious, and she wanted the wisdom it would give her. So she took some of the fruit and ate it. Then she gave some to her husband, who was with her, and he ate it, too.”

I don’t know about you, but when I was younger, my parents said to keep away from strangers who offer you candy. What was the temptation? Like the temptation to Eve, the candy would look good and just the thought of that sugary taste could make a child give in to accepting the candy.

Christian, if you believe in a living God, then you must also believe in a living Devil, an opposing sinful nature, and a world system that battles against the things of God. My point in the illustrations I’ve just mentioned is that temptations exist, but I have to ask, “how “on guard” are you and I to them now in our adult lives?”

As adults, the temptations we face are not for pieces of candy (maybe for some of us), but they come to us in other ways. Maybe its status, maybe its recognition, maybe its appearance, etc.

1 John 2:15-16 (NLT) says: 15 Do not love this world nor the things it offers you, for when you love the world, you do not have the love of the Father in you. 16 For the world offers only a craving for physical pleasure, a craving for everything we see, and pride in our achievements and possessions. These are not from the Father, but are from this world.

In writing these thoughts today, I am convicted about my own non-chalant attitude about temptations. I think too often I don’t have enough respect for the destructive power that temptations have.

I believe it would be wise for me (maybe you too) to pay closer attention to our Heavenly Father’s advice to flee temptations and make no provision for the flesh. God also says “Stay alert! Watch out for your great enemy, the devil. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour.” 1 Peter 5:8 NLT)

Leave a Reply

