True, the uncertainties of your future are big, but…

Standard

Did you ever have one of those weird experiences, where you just feel like you don’t belong somewhere, but at the same time, you are right in the middle of the experience? I know its kind of weird.

So, last night, I’m at the Baccalaureate Service at Olivet Nazarene University where my son was graduating. The president of the university, John Bowling was giving a message he said was for the graduating class.

He talked about the uncertainties these graduates would face in the future and along with them, they might produce many fears. He said in our world today, we do have many troubles, with threats from ISIS, economic uncertainties, racial divide, etc., that there was plenty to be concerned about.

He preached a message from Isaiah 41:10:- “do not fear for I am with you, do not anxiously look about you, for I will strengthen you, surely, I will help you, surely I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

He spoke about the peace of God, the power of God, the promises of God, and the presence of God.

As I mentioned to him later at the President’s Reception, I think there must have been a mistake in the audience to whom he was speaking, because I think all that he said was aimed at me!

Friend, what about you? What does your future look like? Are there many unknowns, many uncertainties, many fear-producing “what-if’s” you are concerned about? You know, I’m sure there are. We all share unknowns about the future.

However, let me encourage you about something we can know: the peace of God, the power of God, the promises of God, and the presence of God and that is enough!

Yes, the uncertainties of your future are big, but I know a God who is bigger! It really is a matter of perspective and faith.

Leave a Reply

