Do I really mean what I sing?

Standard

Recently at a church service, we sang the song, “Hosanna” by Hillsong United. It is a very good song, full of meaning and passion. When I sing it, it helps me focus on my God and my relationship with Him.

What struck me during the singing of the song this time was the condition of my heart. I had to question how fully surrendered am I to living for God.

Here are just two lines in this powerful song:
“Break my heart for what breaks yours
Everything I am for Your kingdom’s cause”

I wondered (maybe you will to):
* am I really ready to be touched by God to ache over the things that ache His heart (and what are those things)?
* am I then ready to get involved and be part of a solution to that issue?
* in what areas in my life am I holding back from God and why?
* can I really say “EVERYTHING I am” for your Kingdom’s cause?
* In Matthew 12:36 it says, “But I tell you that everyone will have to give account on the day of judgment for every empty word they have spoken.” (NIV)

Thinking of these two lines in this song, I got to thinking about how many other times I’ve sung songs with words that declare my 100% allegiance to my God and it makes me wonder if I will be judged for the words I have sung that realistically I’m not putting in any real effort to follow through on.

With all that said, being a bit more reflective on my “worship experience” has helped me today to be more watchful on how I live out my life. I do desire to be authentic and to live out in my actions what I say with my words, even the words I sing.

I understand His grace is truly amazing and I look forward to singing that one.

Leave a Reply

