“its only happened two times before…”

Standard

This past Sunday in church, I was talking with someone, when out of the corner of my eye, I could see another man standing next to me. He appeared anxious to talk with me for some reason. This older man is a solid Christian man who has been a Christ follower for many years.

After I finished with my first conversation, I turned to this man who was by my side. He said, “I just want to thank you. I don’t know if you remember or not, but a few weeks back I was talking to you after church about a medical problem I had and you prayed for me right there on the spot.”

He went on to say, “there are a lot of people in situations like this who have expressed concern for me. They will often mention that they will pray for me, but I’ve had only two times in my entire Christian life where someone immediately prayed for me and you were one of those. It really helped.”

Although its not always easy for me to immediately pray for someone who has expressed a need, I’m getting better at it. I’m realizing that when I can empathize with someone’s struggle (whatever it may be) and I get a prompting to pray for this person, most likely, it is the Holy Spirit providing me with an opportunity to be a blessing to someone and to be able to honor Him for it.

Let me encourage you to take a step of faith when moments like that occur and lift up prayers for someone, right then, to a caring, powerful, and loving God.

Leave a Reply

