Turning your prayers to praises

Standard

“Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful.” (Colossians 4:2 – NIV)

Every morning I try to follow a routine. For one, I do 200 sit-ups after I get out of bed. This morning, as I was doing my sit-ups, I began to
think about my drive into work and my prayer list that I try to do each day.

I don’t know why my prayer list came to my mind as I was exercising, but, as I thought about it, I realized that God has been answering many of my prayers. How exciting!

For example, one of my children is a senior in high school. I’ve been praying, for some time now, that the Lord would give him a passion and concern for his friends; so that he would talk to them about Jesus Christ. Yesterday, he came home and told me that he was able to lead one of his friends to a personal relationship with Jesus. How cool !

As I thought more, I remembered other prayers that God has recently answered.

At that moment, I became excited about my upcoming drive. Today, I decided, I would not ask anything from God. I would simply go through my prayer list and thank God for the people on my list and how He was, and is, working in their lives. My prayers today would turn into praises!

It was quite the experience for me as I praised and thanked God this morning. I realized how much there is to be thankful for, and how exciting it was that Almighty God has been answering my prayers.

Finally, I also felt convicted by His Spirit that I needed to do this more often. Rather than always asking and asking for things, I need to take more time to pause to say, “thank you” God for listening and responding to my prayers. You are a good God!

Leave a Reply

